PGA Professional Championship

The PGA Professional Championship was first played in 1973 during what was a period of great change within the PGA.

In the early 70’s, the PGA was juggling the demands of its traditional club pros with a new breed of tournament player led by the likes of Tony Jacklin and Peter Oosterhuis who competed full time.

During this period many pros, outside of the superstars like Jacklin, still combined club duties with playing, pitching up for Monday qualifying and if successful competing, before returning to the club shop for weekend duties.

At this point the fledgling European circuit, the forerunner of the European Tour, was going from strength to strength, buoyed by increasing sponsorship and the attraction of ever bigger crowds.

Simultaneously the PGA was also continuing to maintain its tradition of providing both regional and national playing opportunities for all members and this included the launch of the PGA Professional Championship.

Doug Sewell was the winner of the inaugural event at Calcot Park and others to have followed in Sewell’s footsteps include Bill Ferguson, mentor to Colin Montgomerie; David Huish, David Jones, a three time winner, and Sky pundit Brian Barnes who won at Prince’s in 1989.

The event also has added significance because through a points system it decides the Great Britain & Ireland team to play America in the PGA Cup which is the club pros equivalent of the Ryder Cup.

Representing GB&I in the PGA Cup ranks as one of the pinnacles of a club pro’s career – a special week in the life of a club pro where the cream of home pros line up against the very best of America’s.

Down the years, the championship has been played at some of golf’s most famous courses including Royal Birkdale, Turnberry, Royal St David’s, Carnoustie and Prince’s, reflecting the prestige and standing of the tournament.

The championship, which for many years was sponsored by Glenmuir, heralded a new era in 2015 with the arrival of Titleist and FootJoy as headline sponsors.

Since 2013, the winner and runner up have also earned entry to the end of season PGA Play-Offs.